Thursday, August 18, 2011

Can I Overturn my At-fault car accident?

Today I was in a car wreck with another, larger vehicle. It was at the intersection of hwy 141 and abbotts bridge in Johns Creek, GA. So basically, I was unfamiliar with the intersection, as I approached, what I thought would be a two lane turning intersection was just one.(umed because of heavy traffic). While stopped in traffic, I signaled with my blinker..and moved up half into the lane, in order to let the other driver know that I needed to merge. when the light turned green(we are at the back of the lane, not likely to catch light). The driver in the large suburban cremed my 350z. this is at speeds lower then 5 mph. I approached her vehicle and she told me that she didn't see my car..or the fact that I had my blinker on and needed to merge. She had kids as pengers and told me she was late picking up her kids and admitted fault in the wreck. After waiting 30 minutes for johns creek police. we chatted a couple of times and she was very apologetic for not seeing my vehicle in her very large, and occupied suburban. Once the officer arrived, he took our information, I guess put everything into consideration..came back and deemed me at fault for the wreck for an improper lane change. I'm uming because the nature of the car and my age, he umed the wreck was committed at the top of the intersection..(me trying to merge at the last minute without informing the driver I'm guessing). I then told him that we were not moving more then 5 mph and I had position in the lane, uming like we all do that the driver behind us is aware that we need to merge and is allowing us. Initially I thought this was a case of road rage because it seemed deliberate that the person would rather slam into my car then to let me over..(wasn't the case). Now.. I understand by law i'm at fault, but initially and STILL. I don't feel like i'm 100% at fault, not really even 50% but at this point, i'm trying to get it to where i'm no more then 50% responsible for the wreck. as you can imagine, her front bumper cremed my fender and part of my door on my nissan..and I was faced with having to drive my car home mangled up because the officer didn't take both sides into consideration. I guess what i'm wondering is, doesn't it count for something that she admits to hitting my car..admits that she couldn't see my sitting car, and admits that she was occupied with her children, both in the car..and the ones she was late to pick up. Im looking for a little insight. btw, i'm 20 years old..no prior wrecks. Also, I didn't receive a citation for the wreck, the officer said his printer jammed and I was lucky that I didn't receive a citation for the accident.

No comments:

Post a Comment